Gas, Farts, and Acne – Food Allergies?

“Hey Doc, I have bloating,” says one patient.  His skin looks perfectly normal.  Another patient states she doesn’t have any symptoms but she would like to detoxify.  Evidently, she has moderate to severe acne with scarring present.  Most patients don’t even realize they have food allergies until they really clean up their diet and finally notice what is making them feel ill.  One famous naturopathic physician stated that you shouldn’t put anything in your gut unless you can put it on your face.   By cleaning up your diet, you most likely will clean up your acne and other skin related problems.  Just imagine, would you like putting that greasy piece of pizza on your face?  Well, that’s going into your body.  It all ends up being absorbed by your cells. 

I have treated dozens of cases in various stages of acne from mild, moderate, to severe just by fixing the diet and cleaning up the gut.  If you have leaky gut syndrome, as naturopaths coined it, then the foods you eat will turn into an immunological disaster waiting to happen.  Those undigested food particles are floating within your system wreaking havoc and may even produce auto-immune problems. 

Symptoms of Food Allergies:

  • Migraine headaches
  • Chronic fatigue
  • Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS)
  • Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
  • Eczema and other skin disorders
  • Asthma and other respiratory problems
  • Weight gain and obesity
  • Arthritis
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Stomach pain
  • Nausea
  • Vomiting
  • Diarrhea
  • Gas
  • Sneezing
  • Running nose
  • Coughing
  • Wheezing
  • Itchy, watery eyes
  • Sleep coma after eating
  • Foul stools

Let’s take a look at the first case.

Case Study #1:

A 42 year old male has symptoms of bloating, worse with Chinese food.  He took antibiotics one month ago, and his tongue coat was really white towards the end of his treatment.  He notices that when he’s bloated he can’t fit into his jeans. 

We took his blood to conduct a food allergy report.  The results were as follows:

He is reactive to foods belonging in the dairy food group, sesame seeds, oysters, beef, and candida albicans.  Understanding what your body may be allergic to can decrease the amount of bloating, gas, and inflammation that occurs if you exclude these allergens from the diet.  Continually eating these types of foods may lead to more serious conditions that the medical doctor will just throw prednisone at.  Addressing underlying issues that was started by eating the wrong foods is paramount in most diseases that have progressed too far.  For this patient we recommended that he stay off dairy and go on a candida diet.

Case Study #2:

A 32 year old female came into the clinic wanting to help her father initially, who has diabetes, hypertension, gall stones, and whole slew of other problems.  Once finding out what we do in the clinic, she wondered if our therapies can help her.  She was interested in doing a detox for her body, and she asked if the master cleanse was good for her.

I generally don’t recommend the master cleanse because it can overstress the body if it’s not ready for such a harsh cleanse.  The lack of essential nutrients during this diet may cause other problems.  I recommended that we take a look at her food allergies since she had problems in the past with acne and has scarring.

Here’s another example of a person who is highly reactive to the candida overgrowth in her intestines.  Although she doesn’t show any overt signs of candida symptoms, I recommended that we start a candida diet to remove the candida overgrowth, repair the intestines, and repopulate her intestines with healthier bacteria.  Doing so will decrease the amount of inflammation that occurs on her face.

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science?_ob=ArticleURL&_udi=B6T0M-47STXDT-RJ&_user=10&_coverDate=12%2F31%2F1981&_rdoc=1&_fmt=high&_orig=search&_origin=search&_sort=d&_docanchor=&view=c&_searchStrId=1656543302&_rerunOrigin=google&_acct=C000050221&_version=1&_urlVersion=0&_userid=10&md5=f7163edb69b852a4d0962bf877e65c66&searchtype=a

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2467105/?page=1

13 thoughts on “Gas, Farts, and Acne – Food Allergies?

  1. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed
    to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this site with my Facebook group.

    Talk soon!

      • I am 43, suffering from acne problem on my face, chest and upper back, i also suffer from nasal alergy(post nasal dicharge) and bloating and discomfort in stomach. All these problem are so random that i can hardly workout the cause. I am living in karachi. kindly suggest some remedy.

      • Hi Ashar,

        When looking at skin diseases like acne for example, we, as naturopaths, tend to address the gut first. Your symptoms aren’t as random as you may think. In Chinese medicine, nasal allergies or sinus problems are usually connected to the stomach meridian. The bloating and discomfort in the stomach will depend how soon you get your discomfort after a meal which will tell which part of the digestion is most affected. I would guess that you start to get bloating around 30 minutes after a meal. In which case, I can probably guess that there is a microbial imbalance in your small intestine (near the gallbladder area), possibly bacterial, fungal (ie candida) or parasite in origin. If you are wondering about the cause of where you contracted this, it is usually a result of a combination of low stomach digestive function and eating something contaminated with the parasite or bad bacteria (ie foods not properly prepared, water, etc.). Since this is leading to a consultation, please message me if you require further assistance: brianhleung@gmail.com

        Thanks,
        Dr. Leung

  2. Hi,

    Your article is really well written and informative. I am having few issues related to my stomach and skin for past 4 years. I am having gas problem at night which has a nasty smell, I have bowel movement once in 2 or 3 days and at the same time I am getting breakouts only on my cheek. Can there be any connection. Any suggestion would be a great help…

    Few things that I have noticed is whenever I have fruit juice and fruits I get breakouts like crazy, is it the sugar causing the problem. Another thing is whenever I have bread, I think I get breakout too.

    • Sounds like a wheat allergy with possible candida in the gut. Please have a naturopath or functional medicine doctor check for IgG food allergies. A comprehensive digestive stool analysis will confirm whether you have candida.

      • Hi Dr. Brian,

        I just got my reports for the stool analysis, they didn’t find any yeast infection but they did see some bacterial imbalance. The doctor said nothing is alarming but is asking my to take some probiotic enzyme so that I can digest the food properly and can have a regular bowel movement. Would you recommend anything else. Can bacteria imbalance can cause gas problem, I have been having this gas problem for more than 3 years.

  3. Hi, I have been having some stomach problem for past few years. Like passing gas at night, at the same time I am having some breakout on my cheek. I am also having a acute pain in the middle of my neck….Lot of people say that if you get breakout only on your cheek that shows digestion problem and I am having stomach problem. I am trying to see if I am having some food allergies.

    but can food allergies cause neck pain too?

    • Hi Sonu,

      Food allergies are more likely to cause upper neck pain near the base of your skull. Mid neck pain is more likely a symptom of people who spend lots of time staring at their computer with bad posture, causing anterior head carriage. This is a sign of early degeneration of your neck.

      Food allergies are more related to your atlas being displaced and this more than likely will involve the occiput. Breakouts along your stomach acupuncture meridian is common in food allergies. Google online to see where it starts (below your eye). I would avoid wheat and dairy but an IgG test for food allergies is confirmatory.

      Regards,
      Dr. Brian

  4. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your site. You have some really good articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write
    some content for your blog in exchange for
    a link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if
    interested. Many thanks!

  5. Hi,
    I have gas problem since long and I have acne and acne marks on my face: cheeks, chin, shoulders and upper back. Can it be a food allergy? Please advice.

  6. Wow… I suffer from migraines almost daily, acne & about 75% of the other symptoms listed. My nose is almost always stuffy and 9/10 times runny after I eat. I know I’m allergic to shellfish (no test ever done – I get rashes and feel burned from the steam of freshly cooked shellfish.. I’m a waitress I serve chowder daily.. I get violently ill after eating a very small amount.. I’m talking 6 hours of hugging the throne and intense stomach pain.). I’m now wondering what else I’m mildly allergic to! Going to get tested for allergies after reading this. Hoping its not any of my favs ;) thank you for this article .. It helped me put 2 and 2 together as I’m a very healthy person and show unhealthy symptoms!

Leave a Reply

